NBA Announces Steph Curry as the First Ever Unanimous NBA MVP

After one of the best performing season in NBA history, Stephen Curry was selected as the unanimous 2015-16 NBA MVP. He more than doubled the total number of votes over second place finisher, Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs with obtaining 1310 total votes. LeBron James was third in overall voting. The repeat MVP award for Curry is just one of the latest awards for a record-setting Golden State Warriors team that is looking to repeat as 2016 NBA Champions this summer.

Steph Curry NBA MVP

2015-16 NBA MVP Voting Results

Player, Team, Points
Stephen Curry, Warriors 1,310*
Kawhi Leonard, Spurs 634
LeBron James, Cavaliers 631
Russell Westbrook, Thunder 486
Kevin Durant, Thunder 147
Chris Paul, Clippers 107
*Received all 131 first-place votes

Past NBA MVP Results

For the first time ever, Curry was able to obtain 100% of all of the NBA MVP votes. There have been some close calls in past years with the MVP obtaining all but one first place vote (LeBron in 2012-13 and Shaq in 1999-2000); however, no one player has truly impressed everyone to the degree that Curry has done this season. He is also the 11th back-back NBA MVP selected in the history of the league. Others to earn this honor include Michael Jordin in 1991-1992, Larry Bird in 1984, 1985, and 1986, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar in 1971, 1972 and again in 1976 and 1977, Bill Russell in 1961, 1962, and 1963, Tim Duncan in 2002 and 2003, LeBron in 2009, 2010 and again in 2012 and 2013, Wilt Chamberlain in 1966, 1967, and 1968, and Moses Malone in 1982 and 1983.

During the record setting year, Curry also broke his own, single season record for 3 pointers made with 402, and shot 50 percent from the floor, more than 45 percent from three, and 90 percent from the free throw line which had only been done by Steve Kerr and Steve Nash before.