2016 Olympics Football Schedule

The 2016 Olympics football schedule (soccer for U.S. fans) will kick off with group play in the women’s tournament on August 3rd, 2016. The men’s tournament will start on August 4th, 2016, and FIFA has completed the draw for the groups for each tournament. The opening game of the Olympics will be played at the Olympic Stadium located in Rio de Janeiro at 1PM (1300 ) local time. Maracana Stadium has been selected as the host site for the gold medal games for both the men’s and women’s tournaments. There will be a total of seven stadiums used during Olympic game play, and the host venues in Belo Horizonte, Brasilia, Manaus, Salvador, and Sao Paulo were all used during the 2014 FIFA World Cup to host games. Brazil was selected for the A and E groups placing the home team (men) playing in Brasilia and Salvador, and the women in Rio and Manaus. If you are looking for the overall 2016 Olympic schedule, we have it posted here to enjoy as well as all of the 2016 Rio Olympic sports that will be held during the Olympics.

Olympic Stadium Socce

2016 Olympic Football Groups (Men)

For Olympic Men’s football, the teams are divided into four groups that consist of four teams. Each team will play the others in their respective group with the top two advancing to the quarterfinals. During group play teams earn three points for a win and one for a draw with the tiebreakers being the number of goals scored. The draw for the men’s Olympic groups for Rio was completed on April 14th, 2016.
Men’s Olympic Groups for 2016

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Brazil Sweden Fiji Honduras
South Africa Colombia South Korea Algeria
Iraq Nigeria Mexico Portugal
Denmark Japan Germany Argentina

2016 Olympic Men’s Football Tournament Schedule

Group Play (Thursday 4 August – Wednesday 10 August
Opening Match (Thursday 4 August): Brasilia
Quarter-finals (Saturday 13 August): Brasilia, Salvador, Belo Horizonte, Sao Paulo
Semi-finals (Wednesday 17 August): Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro (Maracana Stadium)
Bronze medal match (Saturday 20 August): Belo Horizonte
Gold medal match (Saturday 20 August): Rio de Janeiro (Maracana Stadium)

2016 Olympic Football Groups (Women)

The Olympic football groups for women’s play is setup slightly different than the men’s with there only being three groups of four countries each. A round robin-style that is identical to the men’s is used with each team earning three points for a win in group play and one for a draw. The top two teams in each group and best overall third place team (based on points) earn spots in the Olympic quarterfinals. The draw for the 2016 Women’s Football Olympic groups took place on April 14th, 2016.

Group E Group F Group G
Brazil Canada United States
China PR Australia New Zealand
Sweden Zimbabwe France
South Africa Germany Colombia


2016 Olympic Women’s Football Tournament Schedule

Group Play (Thursday 3 August – Tuesday 9 August
Opening Match (Wednesday 3 August): Rio de Janeiro (Olympic Stadium)
Quarter-finals (Friday 12 August): Brasilia, Salvador, Sao Paulo, Belo Horizonte
Semi-finals (Tuesday 16 August): Belo Horizonte, Rio de Janeiro (Maracana Stadium)
Bronze medal match (Friday 19 August): Sao Paulo
Gold medal match (Friday 19 August): Rio de Janeiro (Maracana Stadium)