2016 AP Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year Announced

The votes have been released, the 2016 AP Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year is Bill Self. Coach Self led the Kansas Jayhawks to the overall #1 ranking in the final AP Men’s Basketball weekly poll as well as the team’s 12th straight Big 12 Conference Title. Coach Self previously won AP Coach of the Year honors in 2009, and he is now the eighth overall coach to win the prestigious award more than once. UCLA’s John Wooden won the award a record five times, and other multiple winners of the award include Roy Williams, Bob Knight, Guy Lewis, and Bob Knight.

How Many Votes Did Coach Self Get?

Coach Self received a total of 21 votes for the 2016 AP Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year award. He Bill-Selfwas able to beat out the Xavier head coach, Chris Mack who earned 15 votes, and Coach Dana Altman of Oregon who earned 13 votes. The results come before the Final Four weekend kicks off with the 2016 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament this weekend. Kansas was able to spend a total of five weeks ranked #1 in the country this season, and they were also selected as the overall #1 seed in the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament, ultimately losing to Villanova in the regional finals.

Coach Bill Self Career Accomplishments

National Coach of the Year: 2000 (Sporting News; Wooden), 2009 (Yahoo! Sports; Sporting News; Athlon Sports; CBSSports.com; USBWA; Associated Press; CBS/Chevrolet; ESPN.com), 2012 (Sporting News; Adolph Rupp; Naismith), 2016 (Associated Press; NABC; Bleacher Report; USA Today)

Conference Coach of the Year: 2000 (WAC), 2006 (Big 12), 2009 (Big 12), 2011 (Big 12), 2012 (co-Big 12), 2015 (Big 12 by AP), 2016 (Big 12 by AP)
Wooden Award “Legends of Coaching”: 2013
Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame: 2013 induction
Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award (USBWA):2014
Mannie Jackson – Basketball’s Human Spirit Award (Naismith Hall of Fame): 2015
Winged Foot Award (for national champion coach) : 2008
Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist (Atlanta Tipoff Club) : 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2009, 2012, 2016

2016 AP Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year Voting

2016 AP Basketball Coach of the Year Votes
Coach Schoo Votes
Bill Self Kansas 21
Chris Mack Xavier 15
Dana Altman Oregon 13
Tom Izzo Michigan State 3
Billy Kennedy Texas A&M 3
Tony Bennett Virginia 2
Tom Crean Indiana 2
Kevin Willard Seton Hall 2
Jay Wright Villanova 2
Greg Gard Wisconsin 1
Tubby Smith Texas Tech 1