2016-17 College Football Playoff Schedule

College football season kicks off as summer ends, and all teams will be vying for one of four spots in the 2016-17 college football playoff schedule. The CFP (College Football Playoff) is the fairly new postseason football tournament for NCAA Division I FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision) teams. The CFP first got started with the 2014-15 College Football season, and the 2016-17 campaign will be the third iteration of the tournament for sports fans to enjoy. The semifinal matchups for this year will take place on December 31st, 2016, and the championship game will be held on Monday, January 9th, 2017 several weeks before the 2017 Super Bowl takes place.

Nick Saban Championship

How are the College Football Semifinal Matchup Locations Picked?

Based on the original agreement between the FBS leagues, the semifinal games rotate between the six major bowl games. These games are often referred to as the “New Year’s Six.” The bowls that the games rotate between are the Sugar, Rose, Orange, Fiesta, Cotton, and Peach Bowls. There is a 13 member selection committee who picks and seeds the four teams who will play in the championship playoff. The championship game location is selected based on bid similar to how the Final Four or the Super Bowl locations are selected. Additionally, both of the participants in the Rose, Sugar, and Orange bowls are contracted outside of the CFP arrangement if the teams do not qualify for the top four seeds. For the Rose Bowl this means that Pac-12 and Big Ten teams will play in the game, for the Orange Bowl, the highest ACC seed against the highest ranked team from the Big Ten, Notre Dame, and SEC, and for the Sugar Bowl the highest seeds from the Big 12 and SEC. If one of these conference champions qualifies for the playoff, then the next highest ranked team from that league will earn a spot to one of the bowls.

2016-17 College Football Playoff Schedule

2016-17 College Football Playoff Semifinals Schedule

Bowl, Location, Time (ET) / TV
Saturday, Dec. 31, 2016
Semifinal #1: Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Georgia Dome, Atlanta, GA , 3 or 7pm, ESPN
Semifinal #2: Fiesta Bowl, U. of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, AZ, 3 or 7pm, ESPN

2016-17 College Football Playoff National Championship Schedule

Bowl, Location, Time (ET) / TV
Monday, Jan. 9, 2017
Semifinal Winner vs. Semifinal Winner, Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, FL 8:30pm, ESPN